Fireworks AI
Inference and fine-tuning platform hosting open-weight and other models; data and model terms depend on feature and model.
Score calculation
(8 + 5) ÷ 2 = 6.5
2 of six dimensions rated. Unrated dimensions and BDS status are excluded.
Full scoring method ↗Setup details
Host/API operator, not necessarily original model developer; content handling and model corpus rights are distinct.
Energy
↑Fireworks describes a high-volume managed inference platform, but its product disclosure does not allocate electricity, emissions, or water to a model, request, or serving region. The source supports the API service boundary, not a workload footprint.
Reasoning & sources
Fireworks publishes product information about managed, high-volume inference without a request-, model-, or region-level footprint. Ask for usage-linked power, carbon, and water data for the selected endpoint and location; platform scale or throughput claims cannot substitute for a service-boundary measurement.
Facility, region, hardware, power mix, water, and per-request measurements are not disclosed in the product source.
Training rights
↑Provider’s commitment not to train on customer content does not establish licensing or consent for the hosted models’ original training data.
Reasoning & sources
Provider’s commitment not to train on customer content does not establish licensing or consent for the hosted models’ original training data. Select the model first and review its license plus corpus-provenance disclosures; prompt no-training terms do not clear the model’s original dataset.
Model-specific provenance/rights vary and remain unresolved here.
Privacy
↑Fireworks states prompts, inputs, outputs and request content are not used to train its foundation models; its Trust Center describes ZDR for inference while stateful APIs and customer fine-tuning have separate handling.
Reasoning & sources
Fireworks states inference ZDR and no model-training use, although stateful APIs, tuning, and account configurations have separate handling. Check the exact API/web surface, plan, region, retention setting, routing, and stateful features in the applicable terms before sending sensitive content.
Fireworks states inference ZDR and no model-training use, although stateful APIs, tuning, and account configurations have separate handling.
Check the data-handling page and stateful endpoint settings for a given product/configuration.
Openness
↑Fireworks hosts open-weight models and offers deployment options, but the inference platform itself is managed and each model’s license controls what can be moved.
Reasoning & sources
Users can choose open models, but the hosted inference layer is not itself open or portable. Check whether the chosen model’s weights and license permit inspection or relocation, and whether the serving runtime moves too; API compatibility alone is not an open stack.
Users can choose open models, but the hosted inference layer is not itself open or portable.
The reviewed page does not establish that every advertised model is downloadable or that Fireworks platform code is open.
Worker treatment
↑Fireworks' public careers page lists roles across cloud infrastructure, AI training infrastructure, and model engineering, but it does not disclose pay or worker outcomes for labeling, moderation, or external contractors.
Reasoning & sources
Fireworks' hiring page confirms cloud and AI-training infrastructure teams, but gives no worker-level conditions for data annotation or suppliers. Request independent vendor-level pay, location, exposure, audit, and remediation records before treating the absence of reported concerns as evidence of safeguards.
Supplier standards, annotation vendor locations, exposure protections, pay, audits, and remediation outcomes were not established.
Government & military
↑Fireworks says it can be purchased through Microsoft Foundry and cloud marketplaces and can run in customer environments such as AWS VPCs. These are distribution and hosting options, not evidence that a specific defense customer uses Fireworks inference.
Reasoning & sources
Fireworks documents marketplace partnerships and customer-cloud deployment choices, but the sources do not identify a defense contract or Fireworks model used in a military workflow. Keep this unscored pending a named award and service scope; a hyperscaler relationship does not transfer that hyperscaler's defense use to Fireworks.
No named defense award or model/endpoint deployment is established by the cited partner and product pages; undisclosed contracts remain possible.
BDS status
↑We did not find Fireworks.ai, Inc. among the named targets in the two official BNC campaign lists. This is a limited list check, not BDS approval.
Reasoning & sources
Fireworks.ai, Inc. is not a named target in the checked lists, but BDS uses selective campaigns, so absence cannot establish a clean record. Your selected model, cloud and billing route can introduce other companies into the purchase.
This review covers the named targets in the BNC consumer/pressure guide and No Tech campaign, not every BDS campaign, local group, investment or supplier. Lists and ownership can change. A company’s absence from these lists is not an endorsement or proof that it has no relevant relationships.