Kimi K3

Hosted frontier multimodal model with 2.8T parameters and 1M-token context; Kimi's official site and API announcement identify K3 as the current flagship.

Score calculation

(2) ÷ 1 = 2.0

1 of six dimensions rated. Unrated dimensions and BDS status are excluded.

Full scoring method ↗
Setup details

Release facts are model-specific. A family release announcement does not establish training-data rights or privacy conditions across consumer and API surfaces; those are recorded as gaps where not sourced.

Moonshot's official announcement dated July 22, 2026 calls Kimi K3 its most capable model; the company homepage still promotes K3 on October 23, 2026. Checked 2026-10-23.

Energy

↑

no Kimi K3 training energy, inference energy, water, or emissions data was found. The 2.8T parameter headline and token pricing are not energy measurements.

Reasoning & sources

Moonshot’s product and forum announcement describe the K3 model but do not quantify its training or inference footprint. A large parameter count is not an energy measurement; compare only after model-bounded electricity and emissions are reported.

No model-specific compute/impact report found.

Training rights

↑

the K3 announcement describes capability and architecture but does not itemize training data, licenses, consent, or opt-out mechanisms.

Reasoning & sources

The K3 launch page describes architecture and capabilities but no corpus, licenses, or opt-outs. With no source-level provenance, users cannot evaluate rights risk from the announcement; request a dataset and governance statement.

Need K3 model card and training-data rights disclosure.

Privacy

↑

the announcement links to Kimi API but does not itself establish prompt retention, training use, human review, or regional processing controls. Consumer and API settings must be checked separately.

Reasoning & sources

The cited launch page points to API access but does not describe prompt retention, model training, or human review. Privacy for a real deployment therefore needs the current API terms and data-processing policy before sensitive use.

No current privacy/retention policy was verified in this pass.

Openness

↑

K3 is presented through Moonshot's product and API platform; its announcement does not state open weights or a reproducible training release. Treat as hosted/proprietary pending exact license evidence.

Reasoning & sources

Moonshot presents K3 through its product/API service and the cited materials do not announce downloadable weights or a reproducible training package. Treat it as hosted access unless an exact, licensed checkpoint can be verified.

Hosted/API announcement does not state public weights or a complete training release.

No public weights or full training recipe found.

Worker treatment

↑

Moonshot’s Kimi K3 materials describe model architecture, large-scale training efficiency claims, and the planned technical report, but do not give annotation-worker sourcing, pay, or protections.

Reasoning & sources

Moonshot’s K3 technical announcement discusses its training recipe and recommends a large accelerator deployment, yet does not identify data annotators or working conditions. This supports treating the workforce behind the release as undocumented, rather than inferring conditions from the company’s location or model openness.

No labor disclosure reviewed.

Government & military

↑

Moonshot publishes Kimi K3 weights under a model-specific license with instructions for independent serving. That creates a downstream route without a Moonshot contract; the reviewed company materials do not document a military use.

Reasoning & sources

The Kimi K3 model card includes downloadable weights and local-serving instructions under Moonshot’s Kimi K3 License. A third party could therefore operate it outside Moonshot’s hosted API, so absence from company customer disclosures would not settle the question; no cited source demonstrates military use.

Needs a separate procurement and company announcement review.

BDS status

↑

We did not find Moonshot AI among the named targets in the two official BNC campaign lists. This is a limited list check, not BDS approval.

Reasoning & sources

Moonshot AI is not a named target in the checked lists, but BDS uses selective campaigns, so absence cannot establish a clean record. Running downloaded weights locally is a different decision from paying the developer or a cloud host; check the host as well.

This review covers the named targets in the BNC consumer/pressure guide and No Tech campaign, not every BDS campaign, local group, investment or supplier. Lists and ownership can change. A company’s absence from these lists is not an endorsement or proof that it has no relevant relationships.

All sources

Side by side