Continue (read-only)

Open-source coding assistant and agent tooling for IDEs and CLI, configurable with hosted or local models.

Score calculation

(6 + 8) ÷ 2 = 7.0

2 of six dimensions rated. Unrated dimensions and BDS status are excluded.

Full scoring method ↗
Setup details

The final 2.0.0 release is available as a CLI, VS Code extension and JetBrains plugin, but the repository says development is read-only. Model-provider choice remains configurable; users who keep using it must own version checks and maintenance.

Maintenance note: the official repository says it is no longer actively maintained and is read-only. The final 2.0.0 release removed anonymous telemetry and authentication; linked privacy guides may describe earlier versions, so confirm the version before relying on them.

Energy

↑

Continue (archived) can route inference to a local model; that gives the user control over the serving machine, not a verified reduction in energy or water.

Reasoning & sources

Continue’s current guide shows how to connect the editor to an Ollama model, including a remote Ollama endpoint. That makes the serving location a configuration choice, but the editor publishes no per-task energy or water measurements. Measure the selected model on its actual host before comparing it with a cloud route.

No per-task electricity, water, or emissions data, serving-region breakdown, or lifecycle assessment was found for the harness.

Training rights

↑

Continue (archived) is a harness that connects to models; its sources do not establish a complete rights record for the training data of every model it can use.

Reasoning & sources

Continue documents both Ollama and a range of hosted model providers, but that provider guide does not disclose the training sources or permissions for each model. Running a model locally changes where inference happens; it does not establish rights in the model’s training data. Check the exact model’s provenance and license before choosing it.

The provider and exact model vary by configuration; no complete rights ledger can be inferred from the harness license or provider list.

Privacy

↑

Continue supports local model configuration, while its project is read-only and some linked privacy guidance is version-dependent.

Reasoning & sources

The final 2.0.0 release removed anonymous telemetry and authentication, while the offline guide describes older telemetry settings. Because the repository is read-only, versions and integrations may differ; verify the installed release and inspect the model route before sending code.

Plan, selected model/provider, enabled features, and deployment mode can change this assessment.

Openness

↑

Public source and Apache-2.0 license support inspection, but project maintenance is discontinued.

Reasoning & sources

Continue’s Apache-2.0 source can be inspected and modified, and the configuration supports different model providers. The project maintainers say the repository is read-only, so users who need ongoing fixes must maintain their own fork or choose an actively maintained alternative.

This score covers the harness/editor source only; hosted services, models, data, or enterprise features may remain proprietary.

Worker treatment

↑

Continue’s public repository shows community contribution history, but the project is read-only and does not disclose contributor compensation or model-data labor.

Reasoning & sources

The repository credits community contributors, but it does not report their compensation or working conditions. That public history documents participation, not whether contributors were paid or supported. Teams that depend on this read-only project should plan maintenance ownership and assess the selected model provider’s labor separately.

Current worker pay, working conditions, subcontracting, safety provisions, and grievance outcomes are not established for this product’s full service chain.

Government & military

↑

No harness-specific defense deployment was established in the sources reviewed; provider and parent-company records need separate attribution.

Reasoning & sources

Continue’s provider configuration allows local or hosted model routes, and the reviewed sources do not identify a Continue deployment in a defense workload. The model and inference host can have separate government relationships, which should not be attributed to the editor. Check the active provider and its specific contract scope.

No public evidence in the reviewed material names this harness in a defense workload; absence in this review does not establish absence of indirect use.

BDS status

↑

We did not find Continue among the named targets in the two official BNC campaign lists. This is a limited list check, not BDS approval.

Reasoning & sources

Continue is not a named target in the checked lists, but BDS uses selective campaigns, so absence cannot establish a clean record. Check the model and host this tool connects to as well as the company providing the tool.

This review covers the named targets in the BNC consumer/pressure guide and No Tech campaign, not every BDS campaign, local group, investment or supplier. Lists and ownership can change. A company’s absence from these lists is not an endorsement or proof that it has no relevant relationships.

All sources

Side by side